How God Speaks

I am slowly but surely coming to the conclusion that the Lord speaks to each and every one of us in various ways but we don’t always realize it.  Sadly, in today’s rushed world, too many don’t know how to rest, how to just be.  There’s always something distracting going on that makes us miss what God is saying to us.

Do you know how He speaks to you?  Are you one who thinks, “He doesn’t speak to me…”?  If so, I am willing to bet that’s just not true.  I find Him to be always speaking in one way or another.  The key has been my willingness to seek to hear from Him, to search for Him and what He is saying or doing.  As I have said in other posts, He isn’t hiding at all.

I sat for a bit with Him today and wrote down some of the ways He speaks to me.  I purposefully don’t say definitively that these are the only ways He speaks to me because He is so creative and fun! I don’t want to put Him in a box.  I want to be open to hear from Him in whatever ways He chooses to speak to me.  So, here are some of the ways I have heard from Him.

Dreams and visions- He tells me so much through my dreams.  I absolutely love how He warns me of things to come, I call it Holy Intel.  He also gives me glimpses of the future and so much more.

That inner voice/inner knowing/ inner thought type of thing is another way He speaks to me.  I love how He often interjects with something when I am doing something else.  It makes me know that I am open to hearing from Him even when I am not speaking with Him at that moment.

Sounds- My latest experience with this included hearing (twice) the sound of someone pouring something.  Nothing was happening in the natural, I wasn’t near anything that could or would make that sound.  He was letting me know that His Spirit is always available to pour into me.  Sweet!!

Music, preaching, and teaching- He speaks through the so-called secular and sacred!

Sight- I’ve seen some weird things in the spirit, lol.  I have even seen sound.

Feelings- I was recently warned about the spirit of witchcraft when someone affected by that spirit spoke to me and I felt sick on my stomach.  I was able to recognize the issue as not my own, pray, and it left.

Touch- One time, while praying in a circle, holding hands with some women, I felt a hand on my shoulder and heard, “I’m here.” It was a direct answer to prayer for me in that moment.  No one had touched me.

Experiential situations.  I have had experiences where I have felt like I was a part of an accident, prayed in tongues until I felt at peace, only to later find that someone actually experienced it and left the accident ok.

Smells- I have smelled something really funky when lied to and the sweetest fragrances during worship.

He speaks to me through nature.

Prophetic words from others is another powerful way He speaks.

The Bible- I love how the Bible truly is the living Word of God.  It amazes me how one can read something, even know it by heart, and God bring fresh revelation that completely blows the mind.

He speaks to me through various family members without them even realizing it.

The last thing I could think of is that He has often spoken to me through my Spanish lessons on Duolingo.

The ways He speak are endless.  I am positive I haven’t listed every way He has spoken to me. It’s so much fun to see how He chooses to do it next! In what ways does He speak to you?  If you don’t know for now, keep your eyes and ears open, ask Him to help you to not miss what He is saying.  And, get ready, you’re in for an adventure!!

Leave a comment